I’m Writing This While Drunk

by Jamie Rice

Dear Karine,

In the last two weeks, I have gone through a lot of changes. I have learned that I have a heart again (Karine, you know what a huge revelation this is). I have met at least two celebs (You know who you are), and I have also decided that graduate school is totally not for me right now (excluding lawyer school, which is totally for me).

IMG_3320

Hi famous person 1!

IMG_3319

Oh and hi famous person 2!

But starting with Sundance last week, which is honestly where this whole “I don’t want to to go to grad school” thing began, I have to say that I had a beyond amazing time. I need to go back every year. I don’t care what I have to do. I’ll do the volunteer hours because it was amazing. There were so many amazing and inspiring people bustling around in a few miles, and the energy was just simply inspiring.

But beyond that, after being around all of those people in the professional sphere, I just realized that any more academia was going to totally stifle me at this point. I’ve done the time, let me do the crime (I mean… I guess I don’t actually want to do crime, but you know what I mean… I hope). But actually, this is a huge revelation for me. I don’t want to read books and be instructed anymore (Unless, it is practical knowledge in the law of course!) It just won’t work because like all of those super cool young people at Sundance, I just want to create!

tumblr_inline_mgg40op5zi1ro2d43

Me about law school for real

I know it’s not gonna be easy, and that I’m currently drunk, and that it will be hard to actually live out there in the world, but I think that I’m ready for it. I wanna go to the Thunderdome. Live it big time. You know, clichés? Love ’em. Wanna live ’em. Just like you mama!

-Jamie

 

