You Can’t Always Be With the People You Love

by karinaaax03

Dear Jamie,

This weekend was amazing. Honestly I don’t think I’ve been as happy as I was this weekend since the last time I was at Elon. Sad, but true.

Apparently, I’m more dependent on social interaction than I thought because I had a blast seeing all my humans again. Don’t get me wrong, I love my family and the few friends I have in the tri-state, but being surrounded by all my closest friends is just something else.

Surprisingly, no one I casually bumped into seemed to think it odd that I was at Elon. I assume that’s because they didn’t realize I was gone in the first place. Invisibility is a cool superpower.


Realistically, I could give two fucks if people notice me or not. All that I care about is that the people I came to see (including you obviously) gave many fucks and were nothing short of amazing, as usual. I pick pretty good humans if I do say so myself.

But with the nostalgia of RDU and Barefoot moscato came the realization that I, in fact, graduated and am technically considered an adult. I can no longer spend time between classes running to the grocery store with you and or running out at night to dick around.

But I think more than missing the things I can’t do, missing the people I can’t see every day is the real kicker. When I first started college, all bright-eyed and bushy tailed like an unsuspecting Elon squirrel, I didn’t quite know how the four years would go and I certainly didn’t know who I’d be spending them with. But since that painfully hot August day back in 2012, I can say with certainty that I have managed to squeeze my way into the lives of some of the most amazing, loving, thoughtful people I’ve ever had the chance to meet. And I mean that.

The love is so real.

I’ve always appreciated the shit out of a good friend, but this whole graduation makes me appreciate you humans in a whole new way. It also makes me realize that even though it’s painful, you can’t always be with all the people you love.

Life is a funny thing, with more directional changes than I could’ve imagined. And no matter how close two people are everyone’s paths are so different. Just because you love people doesn’t mean you’re on the same path, and just because you aren’t on the same path doesn’t mean those paths don’t run parallel. I’m learning to be okay with that.

If you move to Cali, it doesn’t mean we aren’t best friends, if I’m one day even more than 650 miles away from some of my favorite people, doesn’t mean I love them any less.

In a perfect conclusion to this post, my plane is taking off. I love you, and I’ll see you soon.

P.S. I’m crying…again.

 

