Sittin’ Reminiscing

by karinaaax03

Dear James,

I’m feeling pretty positive today. Sunday night wasn’t cute, and Monday wasn’t exactly joyous, but today I’m feeling good. You’re probably sick of hearing me say it, but it’s tough not being at school. Luckily, I’m learning to look on the bright side of things. So far, pretty good.

Time goes by pretty fast, when you think about. It’s about a week away from March 1, and it feels like I just started working here two weeks ago. Sometimes, I feel like the days go by really slowly, and nothing really changes from day to day, but when you look back it seems like it all went by so quickly. If days these days go by quickly, the 3.5 years at Elon went by even faster. I know this isn’t a new concept, it just never ceases to amaze me how quickly time gets spent.

In the spirit of time, I’d like to reminisce on some of our most interesting/hilarious/shit-showy times in a spin-off of your first ever blog post.

Here we go…

The First of Many Missing Jamie Stories:

I’m sorry I’m bringing this up, I really am, but it was just such a cornerstone to our friendship.  It was just a few weeks into our freshman year, and we decided to pregame with some cheap rum I had brought to college in an old water bottle and go to a frat party (glad those days are over). We get there and go straight for the bucket (jungle juice, or whatever the kids at other schools call it) which was bright red and most likely tasted like cough syrup and predatory behavior.

tumblr_n758qolslh1ssjkcoo1_400

Yum…

You proceeded to drink at least one full cup of the toxic mix, maybe two, while I sipped on mine like the baby I am/was. We were dancing with some boys, probably upperclassmen because that’s what goes on the first few months of freshman year. Before I knew it, you hadn’t come back from your bathroom trip and I was running around the frat party like a lunatic trying to find you. I asked a random man in front of the house, who seemed genuinely concerned until he started talking to me about zodiac signs (he was a scorpio, figures). I asked people inside the party, I texted and called you dozens of times, I got angry messages from our suit mates asking how I could’ve possibly lost you. Finally, after I managed to retrieve your phone from some random man,  I got the message that you had been delivered home by a concerned senior girl. God bless that girl, wherever she is. Sadly for me, I lost you several other times throughout our 3.5 years together, luckily for you I won’t bring those occasions up right now.

That One Thing I Really, Really Wanted to Do:

Back to freshman year once more, at yet another frat party, with yet another upperclassman boy. This time it was my turn to be a fuck up. I was drunkenly dancing with some random man (when I say dancing, I mean we were going at it up against the wall) when you interrupted me for a reason I can’t remember (probably because you were concerned for my sanity). Right before you interrupted me, however, the boy asked if I wanted to “go upstairs”. For anyone who doesn’t know what that means, he wanted to fuck. When you pulled me away I excitedly told you that I really, really wanted to sleep with him. To which you calmly reminded me that I was a virgin and questioned if a random night at a frat party with a stranger was the best way to change that. After much drunken persistence on my part (and probably admitting that I didn’t even know his name), I caved and left with you. I’ve been thankful for you a lot in my life, but this night is definitely in the top three. In retrospect, the guy wasn’t even cute. Shame on me.

The Second of Many Fights Over My Emotional Negligence:

In order to really set the stage for this one, I think I need to lay some groundwork. I remember the first time you yelled at me about a guy. It was freshman year on the LMN quad when I refused to admit that my first boyfriend (we weren’t together yet) actually liked me. It was obvious, but as you’ve since learned I’m a total pain in the ass when it comes to realizing if someone likes me, no matter how obvious you, and usually everyone else, finds it. I haven’t become any less of a pain in the ass about admitting such relations, as evidence by our beach story. During our…uhh how should I describe it…interesting trip to Myrtle beach, we were drunkenly swimming in the ocean (bad idea, I know…sorry mom and dad) we somehow got into a conversation about another person having a crush on me. I, in my  not-so-sober and rebellious mindset, began running through the water, screaming at you to get away from me and denying that said boy even liked me. You, in your constant effort to get me to understand human emotions, ran screaming after me yelling that he likes me and I just having to fucking admit it.

screaming

Me when you try to tell me someone likes me.

You had yelled at me about this topic before, and you’ve sure yelled at me about it since, but this was by far the funniest circumstance in which I got the “stop denying emotions” speech from you. It also may have been one of the funniest moments of my life, so props to you.

There’s so, so many more hilarious things we’ve done together, but I’ll leave it at that for now so that we can continue the trend of these posts in the future.

XOXO

 

