Trying to Rewrite History (Eliza’s Part II)

by Jamie Rice

Dear Karine,

I am doing something that few rarely attempt. I am going to try and rewrite history. I know that I am the one that is always telling you that. What did Gatsby teach us, Karine? He taught us that repeating the past is a great way to end up dead in a pool (or something like that).

However, before we get into what is possibly going to happen tonight, let’s begin with the week. It was an alcohol-fueled romp through my final days. I attended more the LGBTQIA and Women’s/Gender Studies Banquet (the latter I attended with four drinks in me). I also (successfully might I add) did an exit interview and a presentation. (Weirdly enough, looking back it seems like the amount that I have drunk in any particular week is directly correlative to how much work I have. Fascinating…)

THE MOST IMPORTANT INFORMATION IS THAT…

(drum rolllllll)

I SAW THE NEW CAPTAIN AMERICA MOVIE, AND IT WAS AMAZING. (Sorry for shouting) Seriously, it was the best moment of my life. It hurt me. It made me laugh, and it convinced me that another spider-man movie is okay. That’s no easy feat.

#baller

But coming back around to the repeating the past thing, I am going to Eliza’s again for another party with the Sundance people. What happened last time? Well, in case you have forgotten, that was the party where I lost my credit card, ID, and phoenix card. And I woke up drunk in my clothes with YG wearing jeans. It was a shit show. A shit show that I will hopefully not repeat tonight. However, I would like for you to pray for me. In my time on this Earth, I have learned that it’s never a bad thing to have God on your side. Never. HEAR THAT GOD?

I don’t think she listens to me.

LISTEN TO ME DEAR!

Love,

James

xoxoxoxo

